RSS

Let’s start this project!

29 Nov

Actually, I’ve already started. I’ve been working on the first draft of Red Panda’s Book of Social Anxiety for a month or so, and it’s going along swimmingly. Now I’m at the stage where I need help from other folks, hence this blog now exists. I’ll be doing more work on it later. For now, all the relevant info is here on this Storify post.

One problem I’m going to have to figure out how to overcome is regional differences in social behavior. I’ve lived a number of places in the US, but I haven’t lived everywhere. And I have no idea how to prevent this book from being completely US Centric – at least the social interaction dictionary. So I think what I’m going to have to do is eventually find some other people to work with in making guides to social interactions in other countries.

Red Panda’s Book of Social Anxiety is not at all as daunting as the social interaction dictionary that I want to write. I am hoping, though, that I can get assistance from other folks who have more information than I have.

Keep an eye on this site for more relating to this project. Some initial artwork will be happening soon!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Let’s start this project!

  1. angelinebadams

    December 2, 2014 at 1:06 pm

    I guess there are probably some central ideas, if not behaviours, that are common to each culture and maybe they’re a starting point – that however people manifest it, in interactions they’re trying to do things like:

    – begin or end encounters appropriately
    – recognise the social cues of others in the interaction and respond accordingly
    – get their wants across (even if it’s just “I want to know what other people expect of me”, as above)
    – accept or decline something (literal or abstract) offered – anything from an invitation to an offer to tell more about oneself

    I’m not sure how you cross the bridge from there, but it’s probably important not to be stymied by the extent of it – you can’t write a guide that will apply to every culture, but I don’t think it’s a bad thing for it to be US-centric so long as it owns up to that. Maybe better to be US-centric but really useful for that context, than to be so general as to lose out on covering specifics in depth?

    Like

     
    • mrbumblepants

      December 13, 2014 at 11:50 pm

      I figure that there’s got to be some basic guidelines for figuring out what social cues are in different cultures, so that even if the specifics aren’t listed, people will have some hope of deciphering them.

      Yeah, the more I think of it, the more it seems like it’s gonna have to be US centric. But there are also lots of different regions in the US that have different social rules, so I have to figure out which to concentrate on.

      I’m thinking that getting some help with supplementary material is probably the best way to go. Possibly setting something up online. My other eventual goals have to do with building community and resources, so I think that would be in keeping.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
