RSS

So about that deadline…

18 Jan

I’m not sure if I will be keeping my end of year deadline. I may be moving to a two year deadline instead. This week I’ll be settling into new workshop space, making schedules and plans. So I intend to make a decision about it by Friday.

The end of last year and the beginning of this one has been a time of evaluation for me. I experienced a lot of changes, lots of stress. Lots of pushes to figure out what’s really important to me.

I decided that, even though I’ve been cutting extraneous projects out of my life, I still haven’t found focus. So I’ve decided that what I really need to do is pick one thing that is my ultimate focus – the thing that I would talk about if someone asked me, “What do you do?” And then keep one other thing as a side project. There is room for other hobbies, but no more projects than that.

Unfortunately, this book is not my main project. Puppetry, I have discovered, is a natural venue for me to communicate. While there are other things I am good at and enjoy, this is as close as I can imagine to a calling for me. To actually get what I want to get out of it, though, I need to get a lot more rigorous about practice and filming.

Very shortly, I will start writing posts about what I’ve got done so far, and also things that you might want to try out for yourself. I’m also hoping to gather up a list of resources, and spruce this site up.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 18, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
